Sundance Film Festival 2022 Awards – List of winners – Deadline

The Sundance Film Festival unveils award winners for its 2022 edition on Friday afternoon, starting at. 14.00 PT. Like the rest of this year’s festival, which was forced to be virtual due to the recent Omicron rise, the awards ceremony is taking place on Twitter.

The winners will be announced in the competitions US Dramatic, US Documentary, World Dramatic and World Documentary as well as the side bars Next and Short Film. Audience prizes, grand jury prizes and special jury prizes will be awarded.

The early winners this evening include the jury’s grand prize in the World Dramatic Competition for Alejandro Loayza Grisis Main from Bolivia, one of the festival’s raves from Deadlines Todd McCarthy (read his review here).

Last year’s prices strengthened bona fides by CODA, who played in the US Dramatic Competition and was swept up by Apple in a party record deal of $ 25 million. The picture, directed by Siân Heder, also swept into the party’s awards night and received four trophies in total including the audience award, the director’s award, the grand jury award and a special jury award for the ensemble. It is now an Oscar frontrunner.

This year’s class is harder to measure, with acquisition activity somewhat subdued, and personal reactions to Park City views are not a factor. Still, Deadline broke big deals led again by Apple, which paid $ 15 million for world rights to Cooper Raiffs Cha Cha Real Smooth. Searchlight Pictures closed a deal worth about $ 7.5 million for US rights to Good luck to you, Leo Grandestarring Emma Thompson and Daryl McCormack, while Sony Pictures Classics paid about $ 5 million for North American and some international territorial rights to the Bill Nighy star Live.

On the documentary side, National Geographic took up The fire of love in a mid-seven-digit world rights agreement, which it followed with acquiring The territory.

Below is a list of this year’s winners as they are revealed. Keep checking back while we update.


Special jury prize: Excellence In Verité Filmmaking

Midwives (Myanmar)
Instructor: Snow Hnin Ei Hlaing


The jury’s grand prize

Main (Bolvia / Uruguay / France)
Director and script: Alejandro Loayza Grisi

Special jury prize: Acting

Teresa Sanchez
Two seasons (Mexico)


Audience award

Framing by Agnes (Canada / USA)
Instructor: Chase Joynt


The jury’s grand prize

The headhunter’s daughter (Phillipines)
Director-Author: Don Josephus Raphael Eblahan

Jury Prize: US Fiction

If I go, they will miss me (U.S)
Director-Author: Walter Thompson-Hernández

Jury Prize: International Fiction

Workshop (France / Lebanon)
Instructor-author: Dania Bdeir

Jury Prize: Non-fiction

Displaced (Kosovo)
Instructor-author: Samir Karahoda

Jury Prize: Animation

Natbus (Taiwan)
Instructor-Author: Joe Hsieh

Special jury prize: Ensemble crew

Zélia Duncan, Bruna Linzmeyer, Camila Rocha, Clarissa Ribeiro and Lorre Motta
A wild patience has brought me here (Brazil)
Instructor-author: Erica Sarmet

Special jury prize: Manuscript writing

Sara the driver
Stranger Than Rotterdam with Sara Driver (U.S)
Instructors: Lewie Kloster, Noah Kloster; Author: Sara Driver


Alfred P. Sloan feature film award

After Yang

Sundance Institute | Amazon Studios Producers Award for nonfiction

Su Kim, Free Chol Soo Lee (American Documentary Competition)

Sundance Institute | Amazon Studios Producers Award for Fiction

Amanda Marshall, Land of God (Premiere)

Sundance Institute | Adobe Mentorship Award for professional literature editing

Toby Shimin

Sundance Institute | Adobe Mentorship Award for Fiction Editing

Doda Dorn

Sundance Institute | NHK Award

Hasan Hadi, The President’s Cake

Leave a Comment